Thursday, February 6, 2014

Who Resolutions

I know I'm over a month late with making resolutions, but after recent developments in the television series and after some thought, I have made two resolutions when blogging or podcasting about Doctor Who.

1. I will no longer use the designations "classic series" and "new series". At this point the "new series" has been on the air for almost 10 years, and I feel a bit silly calling it "new". It's all the same show, and yes, I'm including the 1996 TV Movie in case you're wondering. The program that started airing in 2005 is a direct continuation of the program that started airing in 1663, took an 18-month hiatus in 1985, stopped airing in 1989, and made a brief re-appearance in 1996. If I want to speak about a specific era of the program, it will be either in reference to a decade, a Doctor, or a production era (Letts/Dicks, JN-T, RTD, Moffat, etc).

2. Since a lot of fans are up in arms about the numbering system and can't decide if Peter Capaldi is the 12th, 13th or 14th Doctor, I have decided to no longer use numbers and will just refer to whichever Doctor by the actor who played him on the television series. This includes John Hurt, and David Tennant will just count as one Doctor. If I ever talk about "The Five Doctors" again, I'll refer to the fact that Richard Hurndell is playing the William Hartnell Doctor.

Let's see how long I can keep this up.

No comments:

Post a Comment